Important Update: Some Community URL Redirects are Under Maintenance. Learn More. .

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question on API Sample Calls.

ChrisJohnson2
Contributor III

Greetings API community,

I am new to the Archer API so please forgive the simple questions.

Using PowerShell and the REST API sample calls I was able to complete the basics such as set the Instance information, login and obtain a session token.  The “All Applications” call lists the applications in my instance but starts the output with a 401 error. The API account being used is local with system admin rights.

ERROR AT BEGINNING OF OUTPUT:

Invoke-RestMethod : The remote server returned an error: (401) Unauthorized.

At C:\Users\JohCh001\Documents\All Applications.ps1:5 char:12

+ $results = Invoke-RestMethod -Method POST -Uri $api_url -Headers $headersGET -Co ...

+ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

+ CategoryInfo         : InvalidOperation: (System.Net.HttpWebRequest:HttpWebRequest) [Invoke-RestMethod], WebException

+ FullyQualifiedErrorId : WebCmdletWebResponseException,Microsoft.PowerShell.Commands.InvokeRestMethodCommand

QUESTIONS:

1. Reading the instructions the header requires the session token but how is the token request incorporated into the command?

2.   Does the session request begin before or after the GET header command?

3.  I searched for other postings similar to mine but none found.  Any guidance is greatly appreciated!!!

EXAMPLE FROM SAMPLE CALLS DOCUMENT

$headersGET = @{}

$headersGET.Add("Authorization", "Archer session-id=" + $session_token)

$headersGET.Add("X-Http-Method-Override", "GET")

$headers = @{}

$headers.Add("Authorization", "Archer session-id=" + $session_token)

Thank you

cj

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions